Seeking Neighborly Advice on Cameras

Alrighty… I think I am finally going to bite the bullet and buy a "real" digital camera. About a year ago I upgraded from a 35mm film camera to this little beauty…
 

a sweet 3.2 mp camera phone for Verizon by Samsung. It takes great pictures and is tiny and convenient to take on outings, but only has a 4x zoom.

I don't really know much about digital cameras or photography, but I've been doing research and I wanted to get people's opinions on some options. I know I want at least a 5.0 mp with a 10x zoom. I know I do not want to spend a gazillion dollars. And I want something point and shoot, not one that crosses into professional range.

Question – what's the difference between an optical & digital zoom?

Ok, so here are some of my choices. Any opinions? Any others to consider?

Suggested by LoiL the Kodak EasyShare Z7590
Specs


Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ1K

Specs



Sony Cyber-shot DSC-H3

Specs

Fujifilm FinePix S6000fd

Specs

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “Seeking Neighborly Advice on Cameras

  1. I know digital zoom isn't as pretty as optical. You want to try and not use the digital zoom feature for the best pictures. I can't help much other than that…I don't know much about cameras either!

  2. I recently bought a Canon Rebel XTi SLR digital camera. Resolution is 10.1 megapixels, so I can shoot something, crop and blow it up, and it's still in focus. See Tiki's eye on my blog page… that was an enlargement from a much bigger photo, and it's still in focus. It's a bit more than you're looking to spend, but is both point-and-shoot and manually possible and having an SLR is nice. I bought it off eBay, from Digitalcorp. They have "kits" containing various different lenses, etc., and were very nice to work with.Of those you mentioned above, not looking any further, I would consider the Sony. I have one of their old F91s with a 14x zoom — it records on diskettes! — and I love it and have never had any problem with it.

Leave a Reply

