Yummy Soup

I made some dee-li-shus soup. Put it in the crock pot last night and let it simmer for 24 hours. This is a big deal for me because cooking is merely what I have to do to get food into my body because that's where the joy is – eating.

To illustrate my usual state, my mom gave me a mug last Christmas that says "Don't assume I cook." Yes ma'am. Amen. Sometimes I wish I had a bit more of a culinary bug. I have friends who are "foodies" (their word, not mine) and they are always making the most amazing looking and tasting creations. They can play for hours in the kitchen, then take pictures of what they've made and post it online to make the rest of us jealous.

Anyway, my soup may not look like something out of Epicurious, but it tastes GOOD! Really healthy too. Here's the basic recipe, nothing's exact because I just winged it. Also, I found a workaround for my failing technology, so I have a photo as well. Yum yum.

Chicken Butternut Soup

4 cans chicken broth
Chicken (I used 6 chicken thighs)
1 butternut squash, cut in chunks
spinach (I used several big handfuls of baby spinach)
ginger root, diced (I used about 1/4 cup I think)
1-2 big onions, chopped
beans, I used a mixture of dried beans, about 1 cup
garlic, minced (I used about 1 whole head)
spices
celery, chopped
 (I used cumin, pepper, and celery seed)

Throw it all in the crock pot and viola!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

6 thoughts on “Yummy Soup

  1. Being that I work in the medical community and I have seen lots of gross things…I thought it to be something from the bowels of the intestine when I first saw it.

  2. Heh heh… being that it's now been through my intestines, I wonder if it looks any different? Just kidding, erase erase erase, change the subject.So, do you like your job? I suppose nothing grosses you out anymore.

  3. I would hope that it would look different. It depends on what part of the journey or phase of digestion it is in…I like what I do but as with any job it has it moments.

Leave a Reply

