Home Improvement Project Update

Welp, I'll probably be putting my house on the market in the next month or two. Here's what I've accomplished to date:

power wash house & decks……………….decks are done, house has not been started yet
paint trim on house………………………….no clue how I want it painted yet
paint lower part of house……………………ditto
add window box to house…………………..not yet
fix driveway……………………………………..nope, but probably not going to
build up block wall……………………………nope, but probably not going to
landscaping…………………………………….done
fix broken rail upstairs deck…………………nope
add railing to downstairs deck………………done
replace 3 hallway lights………………………fixtures bought, just need to install
caulk ceiling crack by wood stove…………not yet
paint living room & top part of stairwell……nope
replace window glass (broken vs all)……….done
new carpet……………………………………….going to get quotes during the (hopefully) amazing Presidents' Day sales
new floor in kitchen…………………………….bought the tiles, just need to install them
fix ice dispenser………………………………..done, thanks to the power outage
paint shelves in pantry white…………………done
replace sinks & toilets in bathrooms……….nope
replace bathroom light fixtures……………….nope
new floor in downstairs bathroom……………bought the tiles, just need to install them
add closet downstairs………………………….85% done

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

11 thoughts on “Home Improvement Project Update

  1. Going back to school to get my PhD… as long as I get in somewhere, of course. Even if I don't, I'll do a job search and move. It's time for a big shake up in my life.

  2. Yeah, my Realtor doesn't want to to spend more than $5000. There's no friggin way I can get much more done for that $$$. I'm going to replace the carpets. I may do a few more little things. But the other big thing I wanted to do – the outside of the house – looks like it's going to get chopped off the list. Sigh…

  3. The house prices are so low right now in Texas due to overbuilding that
    our house is still only worth what we owe on it after nearly 8 years. We know that at best we will break even, but we can't sell it at all with out the new carpets and paint.

  4. Hey Stevie! Man, that is a long list. Are you going to buy again soon or have you had enough for a while? As a renter I can't help but feel lucky I don't have to worry about up keep and the dropping real estate but I do have to deal with a $50 rent increase every year. About your post "Chopra.com" how is all that going. And have you been meditating? This sounds corny but if you take 20 minutes out a day, turn everything off and just sit and be quiet it will have a remarkable effect on your being. Allow the gentleness of the earth and nature and your cats to nurture and love you. I swear I am not a cheesy person, but it really does change the way I feel. It opens up your heart a little and lightens your mood. I think it was Confucius that said that all is love and everything else is the result of closing yourself off from or distorting it somehow so all you have to do is open up and receive all there is, which is love.

  5. Yikes. That sucks. A friend who just moved to Ohio said the same was true in her area too. Makes it hard to think about buying in those markets. Why should you? What's the benefit? Luckily I'm in a growth area of Virginia and houses in my price range are still selling within 6 months at 3-6% of asking value.

  6. Funny, but I will be so glad to rent again! I'm really excited to shed the responsibility of being a home owner. It's a tough job by myself.I have thought about meditation and I've done it a few times. I don't think it's corny at all. At my worst moments, I don't think I could bear to have everything quiet and still because of how loud my head gets. At my best I can sit for hours in peace and quiet. Especially outside in nature. It's nice.Do you meditate every day? When? Are you a time of day meditator?

  7. No, I don't do it religously at the same time every day, just once in awhile. I know what you mean about your head getting too loud, that happens to me as well and it becomes a struggle to keep it quiet and takes away any rejuvinating effects of the meditation. Sometimes while in the middle of doing something I normaly do during the day I will start to pay close attention to my breathing and try to relax, almost like I am meditating while I am washing the dishes or watching TV or something like that. I try to give myself a little loving attention. I don't know, I guess it is about slowing down and letting the light come shine in a little. And then I go to work and I get caught up in the rat race and it all goes to hell again. LOL 🙂

Leave a Reply

