Project Update

Every.

Part.

Of.

My.

Body.

Hurts.

Every part. Even my eyelids. It's not funny. Stop laughing.

Big kudos going out to those people who do hard physical labor every day for 30 years. I give you mad props. Because the stuff I've been working on can't even really be considered "hard" and it's still grinding me into the ground.

So, here's my update:

Done

power wash decks…………………………..decks are done
paint lower part of house……………………85% done
landscaping…………………………………….done
add railing to downstairs deck………………done
replace 3 hallway lights………………………done
replace window glass (broken vs all)……….done
new carpet……………………………………….being installed Feb 4-6
new floor in kitchen…………………………….done
fix ice dispenser………………………………..done, thanks to the power outage
paint shelves in pantry white…………………done
new floor in downstairs bathroom……………done
add closet downstairs………………………….done

Not Yet

add window box to house…………………..not yet
fix broken rail upstairs deck…………………nope
caulk ceiling crack by wood stove…………not yet

Not Doing

paint trim on house………………………….no clue how I want it painted yet
power wash house…………………………..not doing house
fix driveway……………………………………..nope, but probably not going to
build up block wall……………………………nope, but probably not going to
paint living room & top part of stairwell……nope, but might get around to it at some point
replace sinks & toilets in bathrooms……….nope
replace bathroom light fixtures……………….nope

Some of the projects in my Not Doing list might actually get done. We'll see. I'm meeting with the Realtor on Feb. 7th to get it listed. I'll get his opinion on those projects to see if he thinks any of them will make a difference.

All I can say is I have a great sense of accomplishment for what I have done. I'm proud of myself for screwing up my courage and tackling projects that seemed daunting in my mind. I'm especially proud that I personally installed 5 light fixtures and two floors. Those were a pretty big deal for me though now that I've done them they seem like no big deal. Ha. Isn't that how it always works?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

9 thoughts on “Project Update

  1. Well, the Feb 7th meeting with my Realtor where he will be TAKING PICTURES is what is really driving it. My total sense of "oh my god it can't look like that in photos" is a great motivator. After Feb 7th I can relax and chill out a bit.

  2. You know, I really should get a massage! I haven't had one in ages. People keep telling me I should try myofascial so this might be the perfect opportunity. I usually go for swedish or deep tissue and tell them to dig hard, but I never leave feeling relaxed and serene. I want to find a massage technique that leaves me limp like a wet noodle.Great idea, Steph!

  3. No, seriously! My mom talks about coming out of massages all warm and groggy and limp. I've never felt that. But that's my idea of what a massage SHOULD do for you, right? Help you relax? That's what I want. One I find it I will probably become a junkie.

Leave a Reply

