Off to Visit UConn

Welp, my Vox friends… Tomorrow I'm heading up to UConn to visit the Communications Department. These could be my future Peeps! I'm so excited!

I'm being rather obsessive about this visit. I'm already in the program, for God's sake! It's not like this is an interview. But, you should see the binder I have put together.

Ok, let's stop to ponder the fact that I have put together a whole friggin binder for this visit. A big binder with dividers. Fifteen SECTIONS of information. Um hmmm… Can you spell outofmyfreakingmind?

Sigh… I know I'm overdoing it, but it's a big deal to give up my whole life, move 500 miles away, and start over from scratch. I just want to make sure I'm making a good decision.

Ok, so here are some interesting facts about UConn… Not at all related to my program, but fun.

This is the logo featuring a very cute version of the Husky mascot.. All UConn huskies are named Jonathan in honor of Jonathan Trumbull, and all but the first, a brown and white husky, have been white with one brown eye and one blue eye. The current "real" Jonathan is Jonathan XII; he is often seen greeting fans and eating dog biscuits at sporting events. Jonathan is one of the few university mascots in the nation to have been selected by students via a popular poll.

It was founded in 1881 and serves more than 27,000 students on its six campuses, including more than 9,000 graduate students in multiple programs.UConn offers 105 majors, eight undergraduate degrees,16 graduate degrees and five professional degree programs.

In 2004, the University of Connecticut became the first Division I school to win National Championships in both mens and womens basketball during the same year.

This building is the Chemistry Building… it is designed to resemble an old New England mill from the outside. However, students refer to it as "Auschwitz" for its dour exterior and chimneys. Yikes…

UConn Student Traditions:

  • Midnight Breakfast: An end-of-the-semester stress buster which occurs the night before final exams. Students share music and good times while their professors serve them breakfast snacks and other brain food.

  • One-Ton Sundae:  The UConn Dairy Bar satisfies your sweet tooth by combining their signature flavors to create a giant hot fudge sundae. During Winter Weekend students, staff and faculty line up and pay a few dollars to receive as much ice cream as their giant buckets can hold.

  • Ooozeball:  Students splash around in 600 gallons of water and 60 tons of dirt during our annual mud volleyball tournament

OozeballOozeball2Oozeball73

And, at least in higher ed circles, UConn is also famous for several riots in the 90's… Good times… Not the university's proudest moment. There's a surprising lack of photos from it online. Very effective PR management by the UConn administration, I suppose. But found these two on a blog from a person from Rutgers. Enlarge the first photo to see the "I Love UConn" sign in the background and take note of the surprisingly happy rioter holding the sign in the second…

Yob3Yob15mid


So… This may be my future home… I'm excited! I'll be there Thursday & Friday. Yippee!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

7 thoughts on “Off to Visit UConn

Leave a Reply

