Shrinkage

After a tumultuous three weeks, I have officially lost 10 pounds! Yaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyy!

It has been the smörgåsbord season at JMU. End of the year banquets, receptions, graduation parties… that ends up equaling eating, eating, and more eating. Being on a weight loss plan in the midst is very difficult because the food is SO GOOD and very tempting

I am proud to say I only gained weight one week and then only one pound. One of my friends who is on the same plan gained 3 pounds after one fateful weekend – yikes! It has been most difficult to balance moderation and low salt options. Several times I felt shriveled up like a prune because I ate something really salty. I don't ever cook with salt so I tend to be very sensitive to it.

I started this plan because I had outgrown my FAT clothes. Yes, my fat clothes. The ones I went and bought at Goodwill because I couldn't wear any of my regular clothes. I am happy to say I have started getting back into my regular clothes now. I can't wear them all yet, but I can wear some, and that is GREAT motivation to keep up the momentum. Woohoo.

Having my brother here has helped too because he is super healthy in his eating habits which helps me stay on track. I've had a few moments when I've been exhausted or emotionally spent. Those are the days I would have come home and fixed comfort food. But with Ryan here, I've eaten salads, grilled chicken, fish, and veggies just about every night. Yum.

So… onward and upward. I currently weigh 152. I am most comfortable and happy when I am 135-140. Twelve pounds to go… I can do it! You can do it! We can do it!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

14 thoughts on “Shrinkage

  1. Great! But I must ask, do you ever go on secret chocolate runs? You know, black trench coat, large sunglasses, floppy hat, and then of course, bribing a twelve year old outside the supermarket to purchase the chocolate for you… 😉

  2. lol… My chocolate runs are not so secret. Once a month (ahem) I allow myself to binge binge binge! To my chocolate heart's content! I particularly love the dark chocolate kinds with stuff in it – almonds, toffee chips, mint, etc… Ummmmmm…Do you use your kids as an excuse to buy chocolate? I used to do that (not with kids, of course, ha ha) with roommates. She'll like this, I should get it. Yeah, that's it. For her…

  3. You can doooo eeeet!Ha! That's exactly what I was going for. Love how you spelled it out though. I can hear his voice in my head now. Hee hee.Yes, my brother is a very good influence in a lot of ways, especially his eating habits. He really focuses on his health and does things I can only dream of. Like 3-day fasts. We live well together too – similar interests and living styles so it's been fun having him around.

  4. I don't use the kids as an excuse to buy it per se, but I have, however, used them as justification for buying more than I should. Then of course, once it makes it's way home, I realize I've bought WAY more than my children are ever allowed to eat, sooooooo, well, you get the idea.

  5. Good for you Stevie!!!! You are doing great!!!! You are almost at your goal!!! Glad you have a healthy eating brother there for you, too!!!! Congratulations!!!!

  6. Well, it's more like 10 pounds in five or six weeks. I had already started losing weight before I officially joined the center. So, not so dramatic results.Tell your wife it's all about balance and proportion. My plan allows me to eat 2 proteins, 3 veggies, 3 fruits, 2 starches, and a fat each day. It is, of course, based on the ACTUAL recommended serving size, not the normal American ginormous serving size. So 1/4 cup of blueberries is one serving. A piece of meat the size of a deck of cards is one serving. Etc… My plan also requires me to eat two protein bars per day. That helps a lot with sugar cravings since they are like candy bars. The best bars have a balance of 14g protein and 14g carbs. Watch that carefully, some of them have 25-30+ g carbs. Yikes.

Leave a Reply

