First Update in Three Weeks… Yikes!

Hello Voxies,

Thank you MexicanShrimpCocktail for the nudge. I am alive.

My last post about the money issues sent me into a two week stress-session where I ate my weight in chocolate and fretted about the future. But I'm ok… I was just in one of those places where talking about it made it worse and everything seemed to lead back to talking about it. If I posted anything on here it would be doom and gloom and what-if's. So I practiced avoidance theory, holed up and beat Big Kahuna Reef 2, ate chocolate, and worked on getting my plan figured out.

Plus my brother was here and he is fun and was a nice distraction, so I spent a lot of time hanging out with him.


Now he is back in DC preparing for his next big adventure and I have been to State College to find my new home. The only thing between me and my own big adventure is 6 weeks of work at JMU and packing packing packing.

So, for now, here's my new place in State College. I am VERY lucky to have gotten in because they only put a sign in the yard to advertise so I was just fortunate enough to drive by. Plus they were concerned about my cats and hesitant to allow them in. But, I won them over with my dazzling personality and credit score and it is mine! Well, for the next three years anyway. Ha ha.

A beautiful place. I am excited. It's only 1.5 miles from campus, so I can walk or ride my bike. A bit more expensive than I wanted, but options two and three were not really even close in comparison. This will be my sanity and sanctuary during the PhD program which I am sure will push me past my limits at times.I will need a place to go home to that recharges me and helps me relax and unwind.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

19 thoughts on “First Update in Three Weeks… Yikes!

  1. hey, good to hear from you! Oh… Nice lake behind your brother, in one of the photos he's in, your brother's cute, too. I like the house you've chose to stay in while in college, and it has a nice back yard, also. LOL!!! Love the Borg photo of your brother, too funny!!! Glad to hear your feeling less stressed :)Have a good night Stevie 🙂

  2. Hey! you're alive! Have you sold your house yet? How long is Ry going to be in D.C. ? Did you see the birthday pics of the twins on my blog?

  3. Thanks! It is a great house. I met my landlords' son who said, "My parents are fussy. That works for you and against you." lol… It's in immaculate shape. Now I need to keep it that way.

  4. My brother is cute, isn't he? When he was really little, we knew he would be a heart breaker when he grew up, he was just so darn cute. He probably could have been a model in a different life.

  5. Thanks! I admit I missed Vox too. I actually pulled it up a couple of times to post or read & comment on other people's stuff, but I was just too emotionally exhausted. All better now.

  6. Nope. Still on the market. It's been 4 months now. My realtor and I talked about leaving it out there until September then I may look into getting renters. Don't want to do that if I don't have too though.

  7. Helllloooooooooooooooo!Yes, I'm alive. Nope, house hasn't sold yet but the staining is finished and it looks awesome! Hopefully it'll get some action soon.Ry's plan is to move to NYC July 1. He's very excited. Nervous about the BIG city, but excited for the possibilities.I will read your blog tomorrow! I haven't read anyone's recently. I'll get caught up soon.

  8. Can't wait to see the new pics of the house, (I know you'll post them! 😛 ) Cool about Ry, has he already found a place then? Oh, and about renters… good luck. Hopefully you'll just sell it and not have to deal with it. Sending good vibes your way!

  9. You were very fortunate! What a lovely little home to come back to after long and busy days. It's perfectly sweet. You'll be happy there!

  10. Oh so flattering pictures of me there sis. I will get you back, don't worry about that. Glad to see ya back on line. Don't worry to much. Everything will be ok.

Leave a Reply

