A Post About My Cats. Yes, Frank, I’m the Crazy Cat Lady

Is it just me or does Isabel look ever so slightly thinner? Humor me and say yes. The first was 2-3 weeks ago at my old house, the second was yesterday.


And now, for your viewing pleasure… I am slowly working on creating a cat jungle gym in my basement to keep my cats entertained and hopefully give them and avenue for exercise. The first thing I did was cover the support pole in carpet so they can climb it like a tree. The first video shows Dunkin doing his thing. It's about 1/3 of the way in if you want to fast forward. The second video is showcasing how funny he gets when he is on catnip. I sprinkled it around the base of the tree and rubbed it all over it to get them interested. Yes, two videos only a mother would love.

 

The other thing I've done so far to keep the kitties entertained – installed three of these super comfy window perches. Soooooooooo many things to look at outside of this house. Birds, chipmunks, squirrels, and bunnies in the backyard. People and cars in the front. Both cats are in one window or another throughout the day.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

13 thoughts on “A Post About My Cats. Yes, Frank, I’m the Crazy Cat Lady

  1. I know! It's actually very bad. I'm in a catch-22 because Dunkin is on prescription food because of a medical condition but that food is making Isabel blow up like a balloon – literally. At a check-up in July Isabel's blood sugar levels had crept into the
    pre-diabetic range, so she HAS to lose weight or she could end up
    getting daily insulin injections. And I really don't want that. Dunkin's also got a spare tire going on so I've been cutting back on the amount of food (under the vet's supervision) in hopes of getting them to lose weight. She had lost .2 of a pound just before I moved, so I'm hopeful.

  2. Lol… Well, I personally don't think of myself as one, but my friend and colleague, Frank, as much as called me one just before I left JMU. He thinks I have some sort of weird ESP vibe going on with them.

  3. we had a cat who was very large as well – but we found it hard to help him lose weight as he was a real hunter – always catching birds and mice.

  4. Sigh … once again Vox has cut off part of my post. Here is the complete text:Hmm … well, since I also have an overweight cat (who's been on diet
    food for many a year), I'm going to humour you and say YES! Your kitty
    appears to have lost weight! 😉

  5. lol… THANKS! I needed that. I'll take her back to the vet in another month or two to see if she really has lost any. Until then I choose to live in LaLa land. My friend had to put her cat on Prozac in order to get her to lose weight! Her cat went ballistic/violent when she cut back on her food. Would attack her at night while she slept. When she locked her out of the room she would scratch and cry at the door non-stop. It was terrible. But the Prozac and a prescription Purina diet seems to be working – she's lost 2 pounds. There is hope!

  6. Ah, yes, supplementing the crunchies with some furries and featheries.lol… Mine used to catch quite a few furries but never ate them. Just brought them in the house and left them on the rug. Yay for me.

Leave a Reply

