Neighborhood Parks

I went walking again last night and took pictures in the two neighborhood parks. Come along! Let me show the way.

Neighborhood Park #1 – My favorite

Here is what the entrance looks like. To me, it seems cool and dark and cozy. The narrow trail makes me think I'm walking into the wilderness. And it's funny, this park is right off a busy road with lots of traffic noise but 50 feet in you can no longer hear it. I love that. It gets really peaceful & quiet.

Sorry about the washed out photos, I used my dinky camera phone.

To the best of my knowledge, I think this is a long narrow park looping out and back about a mile or two with lots of smaller loops or deadend trails going off to the sides. The first part is very shrub-like, then it turns into wetlands, then it turns into old forest growth.

There is a bubbling creek that runs right through the middle.


For my bunny-loving neighbors, there are lots of them scampering around. Here's a really bad video… See if you can spot the bunny…


But my favorite thing in this park are all the side trails, some of which seem to lead to secret gardens. I've only wandered down a few so far, but here's what I found… You would never know these things are there unless you took a side path. You can't see them at all from the main trail. Who knows what other treasures are there just waiting to be discovered?

Secret garden #1


Secret garden #2…

What's that peeking over the trees? Looks like a small wooden building. I sure hope it's a potra potty! That would come in handy right about now.


Welp, not a porta potty. Rats. But a cool little building nonetheless.


Ah! An observatory to look out over the wetlands. Cool cattails!


Ummm… Really? wtf?!?! Who would go hunting in a city park in the middle of a residential neighborhood? This never in a million years would have crossed my mind until I saw this sign. Now I'll be sure to wear blaze orange during hunting season.


The other thing I like about this park is it has all these inviting little nooks and crannies that look like picnic or camp sites. If only they came with outlets so I could plug in my laptop I might just be tempted to study here.


At the far end is the old forest growth. It's beautiful. Huge trees, some of which look like they have a diameter of more than 10 feet.


Neighborhood park #2

What I liked about the first one was the cool, dark, closed in feeling. What I like about the second one is how open and airy and inviting it is. Here's the view from the entrance.


This park was built in memory of a man named Jim Evans. There are trees planted all over in his honor and this plaque is at the beginning of the loop trail.


Looks like this lady was also a big part of helping fund the park. Isn't she cute? Kind of a crazy version of the Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil statue…


Insert Dixie Chicks "Wide Open Spaces" as background music… It's fitting… In more ways than one…


"Who doesn't know what I'm talking about?
Who's never left home, who's never struck out?
To find a dream and a life of their own
A place in the clouds, a foundation of stone

Many precede and many will follow
A young girl's dreams no longer hollow
It takes the shape of a place out west
But what it holds for her, she hasn't yet guessed

She needs wide open spaces (spaces)
Room to make her big mistakes
She needs new faces
She knows the highest stakes."

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “Neighborhood Parks

Leave a Reply

