World’s Most Ginormous Sandwich

On the way home from Christmas, my brother and I stopped for lunch. We were in a section of Baltimore that complicated the lunch process because tons of places were closed and the others weren't very appealing for one reason or another, so we ended up at the deli counter in Safeway.

Though we didn't know it at the time, this ended up being very lucky for us because the regular deli-workers were not in, the guy working behind the counter was just trying to make things work, and he was very very nice. We know these things because while we were waiting he called to find out where the small soup cups were kept – if he usually worked there he would know that. Plus he told us the bakery did not deliver the bread that day so he was winging it.

So… Ryan and I were going to split a sandwich and decided to get a large Cobb sandwich… blue cheese, chicken, bacon… yum yum. Because of the flukey situation, the deli guy made our sandwich on a FULL LOAF OF ITALIAN BREAD. A full loaf. Close your eyes and imagine how big a loaf of Italian bread is… Fresh made from the deli, not the skinny kind you get in the grocery store. Here, maybe this will help… The same decanter is in both pictures so you get an idea of size comparison…

Sub

Ryan and I took one look at the freaking gigantic loaf of brad and started laughing. On that loaf went:
3 chicken breasts, cut into strips
6-8 slices of full sized bacon
1-2 full tomatoes, sliced
what seemed like half a head of Romaine lettuce
2 handfuls of blue cheese
2 different kinds of sauce

Believe me when I tell you this was the biggest freaking sandwich ever made in the history of the world. Ok, well maybe not in the world, but still…

Here is Ryan holding the sandwich. Notice that it is longer than his forearm and Ryan is 6' tall.


Now, here it is as Ryan is splitting it apart for us to eat… The lighting is funny because we are in the car.

Now here I am holding ONE QUARTER of the sandwich. ONE QUARTER. Oh my freaking lord. Look how big it is in comparison to my hand. What a sandwich. But it was sooooooooo good. The best I've had in a long time.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

6 thoughts on “World’s Most Ginormous Sandwich

  1. That is a monster sandwich! And now I'm hungry. Their subs aren't too bad, actually. Once again, they're huge!I guess Safeway is a national chain…I thought it was just here (out west)

  2. Yeah, it's national and there are a few other grocery chains that are in the Safeway family. How do I know that? I used to work at one – Farmer Jack. Took me a long time to figure out they were a sub-genre of Safeway.

Leave a Reply

