Gua..Gua…Gua…camole

I made the BEST BEST BEST guacamole last night. I tweaked a recipe by Alton Brown of the Food Network. Yeah, like I'm such a great cook I should tweak his recipes… ha ha… But I did. So there. His first, then mine.

Alton Brown's Guacamole

Ingredients

  • 3 Haas avocados, halved, seeded and peeled
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1/2 medium onion, diced
  • 2 Roma tomatoes, seeded and diced
  • 1 tablespoon chopped cilantro
  • 1 clove garlic, minced

Directions

In a large bowl place the scooped avocado pulp and lime juice, toss to coat. Drain, and reserve the lime juice, after all of the avocados have been coated. Using a potato masher add the salt, cumin, and cayenne and mash. Then, fold in the onions, tomatoes, cilantro, and garlic. Add 1 tablespoon of the reserved lime juice. Let sit at room temperature for 1 hour and then serve.

Stevie's Guacamole

  • 2 Haas avocados, cut into small chunks
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 3 minced cherry peppers
  • 1 can diced tomatoes, drained
  • 2 tablespoons chopped cilantro
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced

Directions

In a large bowl place all the ingredients and mix them up. Then eat it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

22 thoughts on “Gua..Gua…Gua…camole

  1. I've never actually tried any of his recipes but they all look really good. (The episode of "Good Eats" Food Network showing right now is all about Shepard's pie and they're doing a whole Sweeney Todd thing to go along with it.)

  2. Well, that really would be something. Let's see… I would accept an offer for one of their chefs to be my personal chef. I would accept an offer to be an official taster for all forthcoming ice cream and chocolate shows. Or I would accept an offer for some of their cutie patootie male chefs to fall in love with me and sweep me away to some fantasy food-world for the rest of my life.

  3. I'm going to be willing to try this recipe of yours. I was just discussing with friends how I always wish I could like guacamole, but it's just so dull and pasty and nothing-tasting. And I've never made it, as I've never occasioned to buy an avocado. Now I feel that I must!

  4. I used to hate guacamole – or at least be ambivalent towards it – until I had the real, fresh, made-at-your-table kind like they have at Mexican restaurants in Texas. The junk they scoop out of a can and give you at Appleby's just doesn't cut it. Give one of these recipes a try, and see if it changes your mind.I do find the salt is important to bring out the flavor of the avocado. Otherwise it tends to taste a bit bland, yes. Like egg salad-y. And the lime is key.

  5. Well, I can honestly say my recipe was definitely not nothing-tasting… lol… I actually put 4 cloves of garlic instead of the 2 I listed for the recipe and boy-oh-boy did it scream garlic. The cherry peppers also made it pop and I love anything with cilantro, cumin and lime juice. If you do try it, let me know! I want to know what you think.

  6. I definitely want to try it, but it'll have to be closer to warm season in order to get the nicest ingredients. The idea I like is that you haven't pureed everything into mush, so that the various components would still be recognizable. Trust Alton for that, too!

  7. Egg salad-y, or chalky, really! But so many people love it, I keep thinking there has to be something to it. You seem to have good judgment. And I do love lime. 🙂

  8. I never put lime in the guac, unless it will be all gone in one sitting. The lime makes it go bad faster. You can put lime on at the table, on your plate. Leave the pit in and it will last MUCH longer. There's some magic in there.

Leave a Reply

