Two Observations from the Inauguration

There were two things that happened while I was experiencing the Inauguration that I think are worth shar

ing.

1) Being the geek that I am, I thought the CNN Facebook partnership was the coolest thing since the iPhone. I tuned in at about 10am and things went well for a while, but about 11:30 right as things were getting to the important stuff, the video feed slowly but surely starting buffering until it finally just completely failed. Boo!

So, away to a TV I raced, laptop in hand, to watch and still be able to communicate with my friends who were also watching online. For those of you who use Twitter, the CNN-Facebook partnership was a lot like Tweeting on Facebook, which I have decided to call Fweeting. The fweets were aggregated into two channels, one that was just your friends' fweets and one that showed everyone's fweets. I loved the friend channel and I have to say the ability to chat virtually AND in person with friends was pretty amazing. This is what it looked like, video feed FAIL and all.

But that's not the interesting part. The interesting part is that the first TV I was watching suddenly died. Weird, huh? When have you ever seen a TV just fizzzzztttt and be gone? Me, never. So of course I fweeted "Arrrrggghhhhh…The TV I was watching just DIED". It was funny/noteworthy because I had one technology fail (the video feed from CNN) then another technology fail (the TV) JUST as Biden was getting sworn in. Aaaarrrggghhhh!

But that's also not the interesting part. The interesting part is that the fweet about the Tv dying got DELETED from both my Facebook page and the fweet stream!!! How do I know? Because a friend replied to my fweet and when I went back to respond to her I was informed that the post was no longer available. Dun dun duuuuunnnnnnnnnn!

Yes, it appears "Big Brother" was watching and I can only assume that "died" was a word that was being screened and removed due to national security type reasons. Interesting, huh? So I'm probably now on the watch list.

2) The second thing I noticed is this cute little logo right smack on the front page of the CNN website.

I wonder how much Starbucks had to pay for that? Hmmmmmm? 50 million billion dollars, I'm sure. I sure hope it was worth it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

3 thoughts on “Two Observations from the Inauguration

  1. Haha, Starbucks IS big brother! Think about it, they are EVERYWHERE!!! In my small town we have 6 starbucks! Two are in the same flipping parking lot, one in the grocery store, one outside. They are watching!

Leave a Reply

